About District

The District derived its name Kamareddy from the ruler of Domakonda Fort Chinna Kamireddy, who ruled this area during AD 1600 to 1640. Old name of this place is KODURU. This village exists in the place where Kishtamma Gudi now existing. In Harijanwada area there was temple called KODURU HANMANDLA GUDI. This temple is oldest in the History of Kamareddy. Apart from this temple there are another ( 3 ) Temples which are the proofs of Kamareddy i.e., 1.Kishtammagudi, 2. Venu Gopala Swamy Gudi and 3. Vittaleshwara Alayam. In Kakathiya Dynasti this place was ruled by KAKARTHYA GUNDANA, proof of this is available in Sri Raja Rajeshwara Swamy Temple in Banda Rameshwar Pally village of Machareddy Mandal.

This district has contributed many freedom fighters and social workers of nation. People of this district fought bravely with Razakars, who were armed with weapons and enjoyed the implicit support of Nizam’s government, and finally this district along with other districts of Telangana merged with the Indian union. The leaders of this district involved in the “Quit India moment” launched by the Indian National Congress under the leadership of Mahathma Gandhi along with the rest of Telangana.

The District is bifurcated from residual District of Nizamabad and formed as Kamareddy District from 11-10-2016 with ( 3 ) Revenue Divisions viz., Kamareddy, Banswada and Yellareddy and ( 22 ) Mandals including ( 1 ) Municipality i.e., Kamareddy. Rajampet, Bibipet, Ramareddy, Peddakodapgal and Nasrullabad are formed as new mandals apart from existing ( 17 ) Mandals.

Kamareddy District is bounded on the North by Nizamabad District and on the East by Rajanna Siricilla District and Siddipet District, on the South by Medak District on the West by Nanded District of Maharashtra State and Bidar District of Karnataka State. The Geographical area of this district is 3,652 Sq.Kms. The District lies between 18 – 19’- 07” of Latitude and and 78 -20’-37” Longtitude.

Click Here for District Socio- Economic Profile